EDO Awards

Many people make a valuable contribution to the EDO community.  These awards are our way of recognising how much we value the work of others and also acknowledging the extra mile that some go in supporting us and what we stand for. They are not intended to diminish the contributions of others; rather, they highlight some contributions that we believe really exemplify the support we receive.


The 2013 awards were presented at the AGM and Special briefing event on Thursday 28 November 2013. Information about this year's recipients can be found here.


The 2012 awards were presented at the AGM event on Tuesday 20 November 2012. Information about this year's recipients can be found here.


The inaugural EDO awards were presented at the 20th anniversary function, 10 November 2011. Information about the recipients can be found here

Pro bono contribution award

Since we began, the EDO has relied very heavily on legal and other professionals to support our work on a pro bono basis.  We couldn’t do what we do without our colleagues in private practice and at the bar supporting us and our clients with their time and expertise at little and often no cost.

2013 recipient: Tiphanie Acreman, barrister

2012 recipient: Rupert Watters, barrister

Inaugural recipients: Adrian Finanzio and Rupert Watters, barristers

Valuable volunteer award

The EDO benefits greatly from the enthusiastic contribution of a large number of enthusiastic law student volunteers.  Volunteers support us through providing legal research and administrative support during their university year, by undertaking internships over summer and winter breaks and also by helping us out with managing events and workshops.  We think all of our volunteers are great, and acknowledge them all for their contribution to our work and the enthusiasm they share with the office.  Some volunteers, however, really go the extra mile and that’s what we want to recognise here.

2013 recipients: Elanor Fenge and Laura Holms

2012 recipient: Tom Dreyfus

Inaugural recipient: Anthony Kung

The environmental justice award

This special recognition is reserved for someone we believe has made a long term contribution to environmental justice – righting environmental wrongs, fixing bad laws, championing public participation and generally standing up for the things we believe in, like and effective and accountable system of environmental regulation and the community’s right to know and to participate in decision making.

2013 recipient: Yasmin Kelsall

2012 recipient: Martin Boyer

Inaugural recipient: Harry van Moorst

Read more about our 2013 recipients and their significance to the EDO.